Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.The Book of Koli by MR Carey

Title: The Book of Koli

Author:  M.R. Carey

Publisher: Orbit

Genre: Fantasy

Length: 496 Pages

Release Date: April 14, 2020

Blurb: The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation.

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don’t get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don’t venture beyond the walls.

What he doesn’t know is — what happens when you aren’t given a choice?

Why I’m Excited For It:  Honestly, I know better than to trust marketing ploys such as Book ABC meets Book XYZ, but that’s where this one had me: Station Eleven meets Annihilation.  I love the survival horror aspect of Annihilation, the looming dread I felt at not knowing what the heck was going on or where it was all leading, and I loved Station Eleven’s literary character building.

Although I haven’t read anything else by Carey, I’ve heard consistently good things about The Girl With All the Gifts and The Boy on the Bridge, so I’m hopeful that this book will live up to the standards he’s set.

What about you?  Which new releases are you looking forward to?

 

26 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey

    • Is Girl with all the Gifts and Boy on the Bridge recommended to be read in publishing order? I want to read both, but I think the Boy on the Bridge blurb excites me a little more.

      Like

    • All these super happy comments about Carey make me feel like I need to go read all his book like right now.

      And yeah I agree- those marketing lines are typically way off, but this was such an interesting mash up I couldn’t resist.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excited for this one as I have really enjoyed the 3 others I have read by the author so far. Station eleven is one of me absolute favourite books. Annihilation was kinda hated by me. So I am interested in the comparisons. But ultimately I will try to judge this book on its own merit. I won’t read the blurb again and the wait time will help kick it out of me noggin. Arrr!
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think if you enjoy the author overall you should still enjoy this despite comparisons to Annihilation. The thing is, you never know which aspects of Annihilation they are referring to. It could be the biology, it could be the introverted main character, it could be that it has some survival horror aspects… it could be anything.

      I’ve read some books that in retrospect the marketing blurb of book X meets book Y was accurate, but what was similar between them was not one of the aspects of the book I enjoyed. That’s why even when those marketing tag lines are accurate they don’t work as a good baseline for the book.

      Either way- I hope you’ll enjoy it when time comes to read it! I have a tendency to add and forget to so that’s probably what will happen for me.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Upcoming Releases for 2020 | Hamlets & Hyperspace

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s