Top Ten Tuesday: Cover Redesigns

TTT-NEW

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This is supposed to be about cover redesigns I loved or hated… Honestly, I don’t really pay much attention to book covers unless I happen to be shopping for a book at that moment.  After I’ve read it, I don’t much acknowledge cover designs or redesigns.  And while I do sometimes notice when the cover doesn’t match what I remember it to be, after I know a book by it’s contents I’ll never remember the cover well enough to have a list of ten I loved or hated either way.

Instead I’m going to pick 10 random books from my TBR and judge their covers.

11/22/63 by Stephen King: I only like the original in this case.  The other two with the digital looking date rather annoy me for some reason.  The cover of the original (far left) looks so much more interesting.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch: Looking these I just realized I might actually own this book twice.  The one on the left is the paperback version (which I definitely own) and I think the one on the right is the Kindle version (or was at one point, which I feel like I also might own).  It’s a shame my favorite is the one in the middle!

The Whale Road by Robert Low: I’m just going to be honest here and tell you that I probably would have read this three years ago if that monstrosity in blue (on the left) wasn’t the GoodReads default cover. I’m not even going to comment on the last one.  The middle cover is infinitely more appealing than both of the others.

Company of Liars by Karen Maitland:  Another book I probably would have read by now if not for the awful covers.  I can’t tell you which one I like the best.  I also can’t tell you which I like the least (but I can tell you the description for this book sounds amazing).

The Relic by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child: I think my favorite is the first one, but that’s also the one I own and the other two are pretty good too.

Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson: Weirdly I think I like the third one the best.  Unfortunately I own the second version.  The first two are just a little too busy for me.

Old Man’s War by John Scalzi: That third cover is heinous looking.  Especially since it can’t fall back on the 70s and 80s as an excuse.

The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell:I think I like the third cover the best… but I’m not really complaining about any of them.

Meg by Steve Alten: Either of the first two are fine.  Not so much a fan of the third. Too many contrasting colors.

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson: My favorite cover here is probably the last one on the right, but the font of the title also makes it look like an 80s bodice ripper… I’m not sure what that says about me.

Also, apparently I have a thing for authors named Steve.

Do you have any favorite covers here?  Which books made your Top Ten Tuesday for the week?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Cover Redesigns

  1. The newspaper looking cover for 11/22/63 looks really cool actually! I love the design of it. And honestly I agreed with most of your picks for the covers you liked. 😋

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, you picked some good ones with a lot of variance between covers. Definitely agree with you that the middle Lies of Locke Lamora cover is best! Same with The Whale Road, I don’t even know how those other two for the Whale Road got approved. The 3rd one looks like a grainy photo taken from a movie playing on VHS on a grandma’s old TV.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m laughing at the UK (at least I think it is) edition of 11/22/62, where they had to change the title because it wasn’t their date format🤣🤣🤣 Does anyone else think that’s hysterically funny??

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your take on this week’s topic!

    I originally thought Old Man’s War was a lot older than it is because I had seen that third cover floating around. Still an awesome book, though! What did you think of Red Mars? And I totally agree, while the second one is the cover I think of when I think of that book, I love that third one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The right-hand cover for Gardens of the Moon makes me think of the Witcher video game series. The font is a horrid choice for the cover, though. (The middle one’s font is much better.)

    I, too, like the original 11/22/63 cover the best. The newspaper feel seems the most appropriate. And I love that second cover for the Lies of Locke Lamora! I have the paperback copy on the left too, though.

    We need to start a petition for Goodreads to pick better default covers for their books. 😉 I don’t know who would get to pick the cover featured, but some of their choices are horrid.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment