Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring 2019 TBR

TTT-NEW

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week’s topic is pretty straight forward.  I’m pulling most of these from a list of buddy reads I’ve already agreed to join.  I swore this year I wasn’t going to do this to myself… but my March reading is already behind and April is pretty much booked solid.  You see the trouble is I commit to buddy reads and then I find all this other great stuff to read along the way.  So while three or four buddy reads is totally reasonable in a month- I’ll probably end up reading twice that and cramming eight or nine reads into a month.  #INeedToPlanBetter.

Luna Moon Rising Ian McDonald

Moon Rising, Luna #3 by Ian McDonald – I am SO EXCITED for this book.  It releases today!!  Plus I learned that CBS has picked up the TV rights on it.  I’m not sure they can do it justice (probably not like HBO could anyway) but I’ll give it a try if it ever manifests.  I’m so in love with this world and all it’s drama.

Beowulf Seamus Heaney

Beowulf, Seamus Heaney translation – So this is super embarrassing to admit, lover of vikings that I am, but I’ve never read this.  And I need more classics on my roster this year because last year I read none.

The Mere Wife Maria Dahvana Headley

The Mere Wife by Maria Dahvana Headley – If you aren’t familiar with this one, it’s a modern, suburban house wife, retelling of Beowulf.  To me there’s something contemporarily vicious about modern housewives and keeping up with the Joneses, so as odd as it sounds I think the setting will fit a Beowulf retelling perfectly.

Servant of the Underworld Aliette de Bodard

Servant of the Underworld by Aliette de Bodard – I actually have no idea who Aliette de Bodard is, I just know her name keeps coming up everywhere.  Tenochtitlan, Aztecs, high priests and priestesses… No idea what it’s about, but I’m sold.

Time Was Ian McDonald

Time Was by Ian McDonald – I’m pretty convinced at this point that Ian McDonald is one of the more underrated science fiction authors out there right now.  Again- no idea what this one is about, but for some authors, it really doesn’t matter.  I’m hoping for a sweeping science fictional LGBT+ love story.  And that cover is gorgeous.

avld_amo

Alien Virus Love Disaster by Abbey Mei Otis – This book, along with Time Was (above) is nominated for the Phillip K. Dick award.  I fell in love with this book based on the title alone (you know, because 400 years in the future, I am totally a walking Alien Virus Love Disaster).  It’s a collection of short stories and looks like it will be pretty quick.

Wicked Saints Emily Duncan

Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan – Somehow I was lucky enough to be approved for an ARC on this one (St. Martin’s Press has always been kind to me).  To be honest, early reviews have me a little nervous, but with a title like: Wicked Saints and a series called: Something Dark and Holy… what’s not to love?! (Please be good.)

City of Stairs Robert Jackson Bennett

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett – The number of books this man has on my TBR list is seriously out of control.  Everything he puts out I feel like I need to read and I’ve yet to actually read any of them.  Worse still- the omnibus for The Divine Cities was on sale for $2.99 a couple months back (a steal) so I own all three and still haven’t read them.  Spring 2019, it is time.

TheStand_SK

The Stand by Stephen King – I have to work really hard not to read Stephen King all the time.  Even on his worst days, he still offers me more than a lot of what I feel like I’ve been reading lately.  And I still have SO MANY of his books on my TBR.  Lately I’ve been wanting to read the stand, because I feel like it will be epic on the scale of Under the Dome.  (At least that’s what I’m hoping for.  Please don’t let me down.)

Witchmark C.L. Polk

Witchmark by C.L. Polk – I realize this is a bizarre follow up to The Stand, but reading The Wolf in the Whale last month, I was reminded that romance really is a favorite genre of mine, when it’s done well.  So I suppose it’s not a coincidence that both Time Was and Witchmark landed on my Spring TBR.  It’s nominated for the Lambda award and seems to have great reviews so I’m very excited for it.

That’s it!  I probably will end up reading ten totally different things, but I’m hopeful I’ll at least make it through the six buddy reads I have planned.  What about you?  What’s on your Spring TBR?

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring 2019 TBR

  1. I’ll have to take a look at that Luna book. The Stand is…wow. I read it ten years ago and remember parts of it vividly. I wasn’t interested in King at all, but it sounded more like SF and I’ve been hooked since.

    Liked by 1 person

    • King is my favorite. I think I’ve read something like 30 of his books? And that doesn’t even cover half of his work! I know he’s hit or miss, but even on his worst days I prefer him to a lot of what I read.

      Definitely check out Luna! I recommend that series to everyone I can. It’s one of my favorites.

      Like

  2. I loved Witchmark, I hope it works for you too! I’m not always a fan of romance either but when it’s done well it’s great, and this is one of my favorite books that I could also categorize as a romance novel.
    While I haven’t read the Servants of the Underworld series, I can say that Aliette de Bodard writes really well (at least, her later books are really well-written, I don’t know about her older ones but I want to get to them) and I’ve liked all I’ve read from her.
    Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m super excited about both of them. I have really high hopes for Witchmark. I think I need a break from the strictly fantasy and strictly science fiction.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey, I think that’s a great way to do it. A little bit of everything, right? Six buddy reads, though?! Phew! I always get stressed when I have one, because I either read really quickly or really slowly, and I’m afraid of either getting or receiving spoilers. xD I don’t know how you do it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I belong to a huge Sci-fi Fantasy Book Club on GoodReads. It’s a great group with a lot of very active members with similar reading tastes. I probably over committed- as I am wont to do, but I get so much more out of reading with a group than reading alone. And because there are so many of us, it’s usually at least 3 people per buddy read, so everyone goes at their own pace and comments along the way.

        If you would like to join us for Time Was – we would love to have you! It’s slated for May 3rd. Link can be found here: Sci-Fi Fantasy Book Club Buddy Reads.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Also- totally no pressure, lol. I extended the invitation because I’m always happy to have new bookish friends, but I totally understand. Buddy reads are stressful. Mostly the commitment part.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I relate so much to #ineedtoplanbetter. I somehow never follow my tbrs and I tried buddy reading with a group once, but I fell behind on the second day—good thing there were a lot of people in the group so it wasn’t really noticeable. But I hope you love the books on this list! I’m here for Wicked Saints’s gothic vibe and Witchmarked sounds so good! It’s an m/m romance set in past London with witches? I really wonder why nobody’s talked about it, but I really hope you enjoy everything on this list and keep up with all your buddy reads !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Caitlin! It helps that the group doesn’t structure then too seriously. We move at about the pace of a book per week, which I think is pretty reasonable. Some buddies read faster and some slower, but generally they are all active enough that even if you aren’t exactly on pace with everyone someone will still be around to discuss.

      And I’m actually not sure if there are witches in Witchmark? Lol. There is magical realism though so maybe!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Luna series looks really good, although I have to admit those covers might have something to do with it! I love those!

    Time Was does have an amazing cover, I agree. I haven’t seen that one before. and Alien Virus Love Disaster has to be one of the better titles I’ve seen recently! Plus I love a good anthology. Hope these are all good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve got a couple of these on my wishlist – Ian McDonald has been there for a while and I feel I should bump that one up.
    I’ve read and enjoyed Witchmark and City of Stairs and I would love to read Wicked Saints.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should definitely bump him up! I’ve got Moon Rising set to start tomorrow and Time Was May 3rd. But I’m also really excited to check out River of Gods already knowing what he’s capable of.

      I hope you get to read Wicked Saints soon! (And I hope we both love it!)

      Like

Leave a comment