Month in Review: September 2019

Despite a slew of DNFs at the end of the month, I actually enjoyed most of my reading, and completed quite a few books.

Books read: 9 for September, 77 for the year

DNF: 3

Pages read: 3,581 out of 25,300

Hours listened to: 12 Hours

Average rating: 3.89

Female Authors: 2 out of 35 for the year

Favorite Read:

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix Harrow

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

Audiobooks Listened To:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – I am not reviewing this because there’s plenty of reviews already out there, but I enjoyed it, and the audio was fantastic.  Highly Recommended.

I Am Legend by Richard Matheson – I very much enjoyed the audio on this also.  The ending took me by surprise, but I loved this story.  I quit on the other stories because the narrator changed but not for the better.

Other Reads Completed:

A Pilgrimage of Swords by Anthony Ryan

War of the Wolf by Bernard Cornwell

Limited Wish by Mark Lawrence

The Institute by Stephen King

Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky

Pet Sematary by Stephen King

ARCs Received:

Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo

Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts by Kate Racculia

Half Way Home by Hugh Howey

The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez

eGalleys Approved:

The Companions by Katie M. Flynn

Providence by Max Barry

Sword of Kings by Bernard Cornwell

Planned Reads for October:

I will not have time to read anything outside of this already massive list.

How was your September?  Have you read any of these?

 

13 thoughts on “Month in Review: September 2019

  1. You have no idea how happy it makes me to see that The Ten Thousand Doors of January was your favourite read. I finally got my book subscription box and I am SUPER disappointed in its contents.
    I’ve had Station Eleven on my TBR for years now, so I may have to read it sooner rather than later now!
    Half Way Home sounds like my kind of book. Any sort of colonizing space synopsis hooks me immediately. I’ve only ever read Wool by Howey and I really enjoyed it.

    Looks like you have a spectacular month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 9 books! That’s awesome. I just got approved for The Companions, and I’m super curious about The Vanished Birds. And Station Eleven is still one of my very favorite books. For me I loved the characters and the writing, which is so beautiful. I still remember the quote I used in my review, almost word for word!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Somehow The Companions was a Read Noe for me on NetGalley. Just that book, not any others. I’m thinking it was a fluke.

      I’m curious about The Vanished Birds too, and Station Eleven really was lovely!

      Like

  3. I haven’t read any of these, but I really want to get to Station Eleven. Thanks for the reminder that it’s a character-driven story, though. I think this winter might be the perfect time to get to it: somehow slower-paced books work really well for me in winter months.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I Am Legend is one that I have always been meaning to try, and I believe it’s a short one too. I remember watching the movie adaptation with Will Smith as a kid, when I was a fan of anything the man did but now I know the movie was a horrible adaptation and that there’s even more to appreciate from the classic hahah Happy reading, Sarah! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am Legend is good! You should give it a try. And it definitely wasn’t anything like the movie (at least as I remember the movie). I don’t remember specifically the end of the movie, but the ending of this is brilliant.

      Like

Leave a comment